Tuesday, June 3, 2014

LS Elections 2014 - Result Highlights - G,H,J

- Sripad Yasso Naik of BJP won from his seat in North Goa. He had won the same seat twice before.
- Narendra Keshav Sawaikar of BJP won from his seat in South Goa. The seat was won twice before by INC candidate and former CM of Goa, Francisco Sardinha. He was denied the INC ticket this time and instead given to Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco who lost.

- It was a clean sweep by BJP. All the 26 seats in Gujrat are won  by BJP. Most famous candidates were Narendra Modi, LK Advani, Presh Rawal (actor).
- INC had won 11 seats in LS 2009, which was  reduced to 0 this time.
- Something which I noted was that 12 out of 26 candidates were not even graduate, i.e. almost 50%. It can be debated whether any qualification is needed to be an MP, but from the state of prime ministerial candidate who boasts of development, it seems a bit strange.

- BJP won 7 out of 10 constituencies. INC won 1. INLD won 2.
- INC won 9 seats in 2009 and 1 was one by Haryana Janhit Congress.
- Famous industrialist and politician, Naveen Jindal of INC lost his seat from Kurukshetra. 
- Dushyant Chautala of INLD won his seat from Hisar. He inherits an interesting political lineage: Devi Lal -> Om Prakash Chautala -> Ajay Singh Chautala -> Dushyant Chautala (4th generation).
- Deepender Singh Hooda of INC won his seat from Rohtak. He is the son of Chief Minister of Haryana. He also inherits an interesting political lineage: Ranbir Singh Hooda -> Bhupinder Singh Hooda -> Deepender Singh Hooda (3rd generation)
- To sum it up, it seems that all the important people won their seat in Haryana. The legacy of Hoodas and Chautalas continue irrespective of their work done.

Himachal Pradesh
- It was a clean sweep by BJP. All the 4 seats  are won by BJP.
- Anurag Singh Thakur and Virender Kashyap of BJP retain their seats from Hamirpur and Shimla respectively.
- INC lost its one seat of Mandi it had won in 2009 to the BJP. The seat was won by INC heavyweight and 5 time MP, Virbhadra Singh in 2009. He is currently the chief minister of HP with a series of serious corruption charges against him.

Jammu & Kashmir
- BJP won 3 seats and independent candidates won the other 3 seats.
- The alliance of INC with JKNC did not manage to win a single seat which had won 5 out of 6 seats in 2009.
- The big names who lost their seats are Ghulam Nabi Azad of INC from Udhampur and Farooq Abdullah of JKNC from Srinagar.

- BJP won 12 out of 14 seats as compared to 8 in 2009.
- JMM won 2 seats of Dumka and Rajmahal out of the 3 seats contested.
- INC and JMM had one seat each in 2009.
- Sibu Soren of JMM won his seat from Dumka. He is one time Chief Minister of Jharkhand who was convicted for a murder case and later acquitted.

No comments: