Thursday, June 5, 2014

LS Elections 2014 - Result Highlights - M

Madhya Pradesh
- BJP won 27 seats (16 in 2009) and INC won 2 seats (12 in 2009). BSP lost its one seat that they won in 2009.
- Jyotiraditya Scindia and Kamal Nath of the INC retained their seats from Guna and Chhindwara respectively. Jyotiraditya Scindia is the son of former Maharajah Madhav Rao Scindia and is one of the wealthiest politicians.
- Kamal Nath is a long time worker of INC. His name came up in the 1984 sikh riots. His name also appeared in the so called Radia Tapes. He was held responsible of environment damage and then fined by the Supreme Court. He was once the wealthiest Cabinet Minister in India with assets worth 273 crore rupees.
- Rao Udhay Pratap Singh of BJP won his seat from Hoshangabad. He changed his party from Congress to BJP just before the elections.
- Sumitra Mahajan of BJP won her seat from Indore. She has won LS seats eight times in her life. She is one of the cleanest names on the BJP list of ministers.
- Sushma Swaraj of BJP won her seat from Vidisha. She is one of the top names in BJP and probably my favorite politician. I would have liked to see her as the Prime Minister of India. I admire her speaking skills and way of presentation.

-BJP won 23 seats (9 in 2009) and its ally Shiv Sena won 18 seats (11 in 2009) with SSS winning 1 seat, INC won 2 seats (17 in 2009) and its ally NCP 4 seats (8 in 2009).
- Nitin Gadkari of BJP won his seat from Nagpur against Anjali Damania of AAP who had levied a list of allegations against him and called him a poster boy for corruption in her interviews. He is also the former BJP president who was not re-elected because his name appeared in several corruption cases.
- Poonam Mahajan of BJP won her seat from Mumbai North Central. She is the daughter of former BJP bigwig, Pramod Mahajan and sister of Rahul Mahajan who appear here and there on TV.
- Gopinath Munde of BJP won his seat from Beed. He died in a recent accident. He was one of the top leaders and his wife is the sister of late Pramod Mahajan.
- Ashok Chavan of the INC won his seat from Nanded. He is the former Chief Minister of Maharashtra and named in vairous corruption cases like the Adarsh Housing Scam.
- Supriya Sule of the NCP won her seat from Baramati. She is the daughter of former Chief Minister of Maharashtra Sharad Pawar. Sharad Pawar is a political bigwig with a huge list of scams and allegations against him.
- Biggest names for NCP who lost are Praful Patel who was former Civil Aviation Minister named in Air India controversy,  Chhagan Bhujbal who had been embroiled in various controversies like the Stamp Paper scam, misuse of property at PWD etc.
- Biggest names for INC who lost are Priya Sunil Dutt (Actor Sunil Dutt's daughter), Milind Murli Deora (got into controversy as Petroleum and Natural Gas minister), Sushil Kumar Shinde (former Chief Minister of Maharashtra, Minister of Home Affairs and leader of the house in Lok Sabha). 
- There were many big names contesting from AAP but none of them won. Big hopefuls were Meera Sanyal, Mayank Gandhi, Anjali Damania, Medha Patkar. Personally, I was a bit shocked and disappointed at Medha Patkar losing the contest. Also, a bit disappointment with Anjali Damania's loss. It was credible to see someone so vocal against BJP bigwig.
- It was amazing to see BJP winning 23 of te 24 seats it contested. DB Patil was the only contesting BJP candidate losing his seat from Nanded against Ashok Chavan. The calculations were almost perfect.

- Both the seats are won by INC (2 in 2009). Dr Thokchom Meinya and Thangso Baite winning from Inner and Outer Manipur respectively.

- PA Sangma of NPP won his seat from Tura. He is an 8 time MP and was also nominated for the post of 13th President of India.
Vincent H Pala of INC won his seat from Shillong.

- CL Ruala won his seat from the single constituency in Mizoram.

No comments: