Thursday, June 5, 2014

LS Elections 2014 - Result Highlights - N,O,P

- Neiphiu Rio of NPF won his seat from the single constituency state. (CM Chang of the same party won the seat in 2009).

- Almost a clean sweep by the BJD in the state (14 in 2009). Only 1 out of 21 seats went to BJP. INC could not even manage a single seat (6 in 2009).
- JualJuel Oram of the BJP won his seat from Sundergarh.
- The big winners from BJD are Baijayant Panda, Tathagat Satpathy, Pinaki Mishra, Sidhant Mohapatra.
- The big losers from INC are Srikant Jena (former Union Minister), Giridhar Gamang (9 time MP), Hemanand Biswal (former Chief Minister).

R Radhakrishnan of AINRC won his seat from the single seat constituency. 

- BJP won 2 seats (1 in 2009) and its alliance SAD won 4 seats (4 in 2009).
- INC won 3 seats (8 in 2009) while the game changer AAP won 4 seats (non existing in 2009)
- Vinod Khanna of the BJP won his seat from Gurdaspur for the 5th time. I have hardly ever heard about him in national political news.
- Amrinder Singh of INC who is former Chief Minister of Punjab won his seat from Amritsar defeating BJP bigshot Arun Jaitely. Personally, I wanted badly for Jaitely to loose. Maybe because of his arrogance I had always seen on TV as well as in his writings. Ironically, even after losing, he is now the Finance Minister. This is democracy!
- Ambika Soni of INC who was introduced to politics by none other than Indira Gandhi and is a senior in INC lost her seat against Prem Singh Chandumajra of SAD.
- Ravneet Singh Bittu of INC won his seat from Ludhiana defeating noted lawyer Harvinder Singh Phoolka of AAP known for fighting for the cause of 1984 riots victims for free. Bittu is the grandson of former Punjab Chief Minister Beant Singh assassinated in a bomb blast.
- Harsimrat Kaur Badal of SAD won her seat from Bathinda. She is the daughter-in-law and wife of Prakash Singh Badal (current Chief Minister of Punjab) and Sukhbir Singh Badal (former MP) respectively. Her educational qualifications are 10th pass.
- Harinder Singh Khalsa (former IPS officer) from Fatehgarh Sahib, Prof Sadhu Singh (former College Principal and known writer) from Faridkot, Bhagwant Mann (actor and comedian) from Sangroor and Dr. Dharamvira Gandhi (cardiologist) from Patiala won their seats for AAP. 


The Gardener said...

Mrs. Hema Gomang, earlier Congress M L A and wife of the former Congress Chief Minister of Odisha, had left Congress just before the Elections and had joined BJD. She has lost. The antics of this couple is a source of entertainment in Odisha.

Juel Oram has been taken as a Minister with Cabinet rank. Dharmendra Pradhan of Odisha, who was in charge of BJP election campaign in Bihar, also has been taken as a Minister of State with independent charge. Although he belongs to Odisha, he had been nominated to contest for one of the Rajya Sabha seats from Bihar and won.

The Gardener said...

Mrs Hema Gamang is the wife of Mr. Giridhari Gomang. said...

wowww ... those are cool facts which I didnt knew ... great to get such inputs :)

The Gardener said...

There is another interesting fact.
It was the same Giridhari Gomang whose single vote led to the fall of the Vajapayee Govt. in 1999. He was an M P then and was foisted by Sonia Gandhi as the CM of Odisha without being an MLA. He continued to be an MP. Jayalalyhaa conspired with Sonia Gandhi and a brought a No Confidence Motion. Giridhari Gomang arrived just when voting on the No Confidence Motion was being concluded in the Lok Sabha. He voted for the motion and the Vajapayee Govt. lost by a single vote.

Sonia Gandhi tried her best to form an alternative Govt. but failed to muster a majority. Fresh elections were called, NDA led by Vajapeyee won a clear majority and formed another Govt. which remained in office till 2004. said...

This fact I knew ... that NDA lost majority just by one vote because of him :)